Stephen A. Freeman Award

Stephen A. Freeman Award for Best Published Article

About the Award

This award is endowed with the interest from a grant by Stephen A. Freeman of Middlebury College. It has been awarded since 1968 at the discretion of the Board of Directors to recognize the best published article on teaching techniques to have appeared in a professional journal during the preceding year.

2024 Stephen A Freeman Award

The Freeman Award 2024 is presented to this team for their article: “Creating safe space: Diverse instructional materials for world language learners” NECTFL Review 90, March, 2023.


Chiann Karen Tsui, German International School Portland, OR  Lucian Rothe, University of Louisville, KY



Michael B McCloskey, Bunker Hill Middle School, Washington Twp., NJ

Paul A Garcia, University of Kansas (emeritus)


Click here to make a nomination.

Past Recipients
  • 2023: Tasha Austin, Ph.D. University at Buffalo. “Linguistic Imperialism, Countering anti-Black racism in world language teacher preparation” Journal for Multicultural Education, v16 n3 p246-258 2022
  • 2022: Kristin Davin, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Charlotte. “Critical Language Testing: Factors Influencing Students’ Decisions to (Not) Pursue the Seal of Biliteracy” Harvard Educational Review, 2021.
  • 2020: Susan A. Hildebrandt, Ph.D., Illinois State University & Pete Swanson, Ph.D., US Air Force Academy, for their article in the NECTFL Review, “Re-examining Teacher Candidate Performance on World Language edTPA as a Consequential Assessment,” NECTFL Review Number 84, September 2019, pp. 15–33
  • 2019: Carolina Bustamante, Ph.D., SUNY Old Westbury, NY, for her article: Bustamante, C. (2017). TPACK and Teachers of Spanish: Development of a Theory-Based Joint Display in a Mixed Methods Research Case Study. Journal of Mixed Methods Research
  • 2018: Francis J. Troyan, Ph.D., The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH; Laurent Cammarata, Ph.D., Faculté Saint-Jean, University of Alberta, Canada; Jason Martel, Ph.D., Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey, Monterey, CA, for their article “Integration PCK: Modeling the Knowledge(s) Underlying a World Language Teacher’s Implementation of CBI”, Foreign Language Annals, Volume 50, Issue 2, Summer 2017, pp. 458–476
  • 2017: Tony Houston, Bryant University, for his article “Managing Depth and Breadth in the Business Spanish Course,” published in Hispania, Volume 98, Number 4 in December 2015
  • 2016: Mary Caitlyn Wight, SUNY Geneseo for her article in the Foreign Language Annals, vol. 48, issue 1 entitled “Students with Learning Disabilities in the Foreign Language Learning Environment and the Practice of Exemption”
  • 2015: Cynthia Chalupa and Heiko ter Haseborg, West Virginia University, for their contribution to the NECTFL Review 74 entitled “Improving Student Motivation through Autonomous Learning Choices”
  • 2014: Maximilian Aue (posthumous award), Peter Hoeyng, Marianne K. Lancaster, Hiram H. Maxim and Caroline Schaumann, all of Emory University, for their article “Overcoming Curricular Bifurcation: A Departmental Approach to Curricular Reform,” Die Unterrichtspraxis/Teaching German 46, 1 (spring 2013)
  • 2011: Lina Lee, University of New Hampshire
  • 2009: Jason J. Goulah, DePaul University
  • 2008: Bonnie Adair-Hauck, University of Pittsburgh; Eileen W. Glisan, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Keiko Koda, Carnegie Mellon University; Elvira Swender, ACTFL; S. Paul Sandrock, Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction
  • 2007: Teresa Pica, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2006: N. Ann Chenoweth, University of Texas – Pan American, & Kimmaree Murday, Indiana University – Purdue University
  • 2005: Wynne Wong, Ohio State University, & Bill VanPatten, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2004: Bonnie Adair-Hauck, University of PittsburghRichard Donato,University of Pittsburgh
  • 2003: Terry A. Osborn, University of Connecticut
  • 2002: Linda Quinn Allen, Iowa State University
  • 2001: Anita Vogely, SUNY Binghamton
  • 1999: Olenka Bilash, University of Alberta
  • 1998: Elizabeth Knutson, U. S. Naval Academy
  • 1991: Marva Barnett,  University of Virginia
  • 1990: Robert Terry, University of Richmond
  • 1989: Jay Siskin, Northwestern University; Emily Spinelli, University of Michigan at Dearborn
  • 1986: Charlotte Cole, Floy Miller,Walpole (MA) High School
  • 1985: Walter Blue, Donald Rice, Tamara Root, Hamline University
  • 1984: Renate A. Schulz, University of Arizona
  • 1983: Heidi Byrnes, Stefan Fink, Aureila Roman,Georgetown University
  • 1982: Claire Kramsch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1981: James M. Hendrickson, Lansing Community College
  • 1979: Diane W. Birckbichler, Ohio State University; Alice C. Omaggio, ERIC Clearinghouse on Languages & Linguistics
  • 1978: I.S.P. Nation, Victoria University
  • 1977: Christina Bratt Paulston, Howard R. Selekman
  • 1975: Thomas P. Carter, Dalhousie University
  • 1974: Robert J. Elkins, Theodore B.Kalivoda, Genelle Morain,University of Georgia
  • 1973: H. Ned Seelye, J. Lawrence Day
  • 1971: Michael Agatstein, Wheatley School
  • 1970: Frank Otto, Ohio State University
  • 1969: Sidney R. Smith, University of North Carolina