Nelson H. Brooks Award

The Nelson H. Brooks Award for Outstanding Leadership in the Profession

About the Award

At each annual Conference since 1968, the Board of Directors has honored a member of the profession for distinguished service and leadership. Since 1978 the award has been given in honor of Nelson H. Brooks.

Click here to make a nomination.

The 2020 Brooks Award Winner:


Amanda Seewald

Amanda Seewald has over 20 years of experience as an educator, curriculum developer, educational consultant, teacher trainer, author, and presenter. She is the owner of Maracas Educational Programs and Learning Kaleidoscope Educational Consulting. Amanda serves as the immersion program consultant at Herricks Public Schools in New York and Mendon Upton public schools in Massachusetts. In Pocantico Hills school district in New York, Amanda serves as the Global Dimensions and world language consultant where she has developed a K-8 program focused on global learning via language. Amanda serves on state, regional, and national boards and is currently president-elect of JNCL-NCLIS and immediate past president of FLENJ. Amanda understands the strong relationship between research and effective classroom practice. She shares her skills as an instructional leader with dual language immersion, ELL and FLES teachers. She is a passionate language advocate who works tirelessly to convey the benefits of language learning to policy makers and administrators. Amanda has a way of getting things done. She was instrumental in getting the New Jersey legislature to pass a bill for the Seal of Biliteracy. She is adept at getting the right message to the right people in order to affect change. Amanda is a true role model for teachers and language advocates.

Past Winners
  • 2019: Sr. Mary Helen Kashuba, SSJ, DLM
  • 2018: Janis Hennessey, Dover HS, Retired
  • 2017: Thekla Fall, Pittsburgh Public Schools, Retired
  • 2016: Laura Franklin, Northern Virginia Community College
  • 2015: Charlotte E. Gifford, Greenfield Community College
  • 2014: Gladys Lipton, National FLES¬†Institute
  • 2013: Heidi Byrnes, Georgetown University
  • 2012: Richard Brecht, Center for Advanced Study of Language
  • 2011: Gregory Duncan, InterPrep, Inc.
  • 2009: Marjorie Hall Haley, George Mason University
  • 2008: Eileen W. Glisan, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • 2007: Stephen L. Levy, ACTFL
  • 2006: Kathleen M. Riordan, Springfield MA Public Schools (ret.)
  • 2005: Ray T. Clifford, Brigham Young University
  • 2004: Martha G. Abbott, Fairfax County (VA) Public Schools
  • 2003: Frank W. Medley, Jr., West Virginia University
  • 2002: Robert J. Ludwig, NYSAFLT
  • 2001: C. Edward Scebold, ACTFL
  • 2000: Protase E. Woodford, Educational Testing Service (ret.)
  • 1999: June K. Phillips, Weber State University
  • 1998: Helene Zimmer-Loew, AATG
  • 1997: Ronald Walton, National Foreign Language Center (posthumous)
  • 1996: Edward D. Allen, Emeritus, Ohio State University
  • 1995: Earl W. Stevick, Emeritus, Foreign Service Institute
  • 1994: Eleanor Jorden, Emerita, Cornell University
  • 1993: Dorothy James, Hunter College
  • 1992: Sandye Jean McIntyre II, Morgan State University
  • 1991: Helen Warriner-Burke, Virginia State Dept. of Education
  • 1990: Ann Beusch, Maryland State Dept. of Education
  • 1989: Dora Kennedy, Prince George’s County (MD) Public Schools
  • 1988: Leo Benardo, New York City Public Schools
  • 1987: Mary P. Thompson, Glastonbury¬†Public Schools
  • 1986: Robert Lado, Georgetown University
  • 1985: James E. Alatis, Georgetown University
  • 1984: Wilga M. Rivers, Harvard University
  • 1983: James R. Frith, Foreign Service Institute
  • 1982: Lorraine A. Strasheim, Indiana University
  • 1981: Laurence Wylie, Harvard University
  • 1980: Richard I. Brod, Modern Language Association
  • 1979: Dwight Bolinger, Harvard University
  • 1978: Howard Lee Nostrand, University of Washington
  • 1977: Kenneth W. Mildenberger, Modern Language Association
  • 1976: Wilmarth H. Starr, New York University
  • 1975: Theodore Andersson, University of Texas
  • 1974: Donald D. Walsh, Northeast Conference
  • 1973: Emma Birkmaier, University of Minnesota
  • 1972: Freeman Twadell, Brown University
  • 1971: Robert G. Mead, University of Connecticut
  • 1970: Harry L. Levy, Fordham University
  • 1969: Nelson H. Brooks, Yale University
  • 1968: Stephen A. Freeman, Middlebury College