Skip directly to content


    The Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages is a not-for-profit proactive regional organization that serves a broad constituency including language learners, educators and the larger community and is dedicated to the belief that all Americans must have the opportunity to learn and use English and at least one other language.


    Weren't with us in Boston for NECTFL 2014? Here's what you missed:

    Download Conference Program (6MB PDF)



    Deep gratitude to Larry Webster for all the photographs!

    The 2014 NECTFL Webinar Series!

    Welcome to our NECTFL webinar program open to all NECTFL members -- we present webinars of interest to all, webinars related to our annual theme (in 2014, "Sustaining Communities through World Languages"), and a special free webinar series for the newest members of the profession!

    Click on the link above to view recordings of any of this past academic year's webinars!

    Nominate Your Students for a NECTFL "Excellence in Language Study" Award

    An attractive certificate with our embossed NECTFL seal and logo, listing the student's name, language and culture studied, school name + city/state.  NECTFL information provided so you can create a press release and promote your program and its successes! 

    The January Issue of the NECTFL Review is now available!

    Are you unsure how to teach intercultural competence?  Does the challenge of getting your students to participate frustrate you?  Would you be excited to learn more about how student beliefs affect their performance on assessments?  Have you been searching for materials in Arabic, Chinese, French, Italian, or Spanish -- and would a professional review help you make a choice?

    If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, you owe it to yourself to check out NECTFL Review 73 today!  You can also find guidelines for submitting a manuscript or a review, and we invite you to consider sharing your knowledge and ideas with fellow Review readers!

    Read the Moving Tributes to Inspirational Teachers on the Wall of Recognition!

    Would you like to honor the person who inspired you?  A teacher, advisor, colleague, mentor, cooperating teacher, principal ... even a student!  Offer a tribute!